U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross Appoints New Members to the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee

(November 8, 2018) - - Today, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross announced the appointment of 39 members to the Department’s Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC). Initially established in 2010, and most recently renewed in June 2018, the REEEAC is composed of senior private sector representatives that provide advice to the Secretary of Commerce on the development and administration of programs and policies to expand the export competitiveness of U.S. renewable energy and energy efficiency products and services.

“It is essential for the United States to remain a global leader in the innovation, commercialization, and production of diverse technologies,” said Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross. “The foreign competitive challenges confronting American companies are immense, and the recommendations of the REEEAC will be critical in our continued efforts to ensure global markets are free, fair, and reciprocal.”

The appointees for the REEEAC’s fifth two-year term are:

• Chrissy Camacho Borskey, General Electric, Boston, MA
• Peter Chiaravalle, POM Energy Concepts, Fort Lauderdale, FL
• Terence Dittrich, TWD Global Enterprises LLC, Hartland, WI
• Brett Feldman, Navigant Research, Burlington, MA
• Carl Fleming, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP, Washington, DC
• Terry Fry, The Cadmus Group LLC, Oakland, CA
• Julia Hamm, Smart Electric Power Alliance, Washington, DC
• Mark Higgins, Strategen Consulting, Berkley, CA
• Morry Markowitz, Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Association, Washington, DC
• Sam Martens, OCI Enterprises, San Antonio, TX
• William Pott, POWER Engineers, Inc., Hailey, ID
• Donn Samsa, Toshiba Mitsubishi-Electric Industrial Systems Corporation, Roanoke, VA
• John Smirnow, Solar Energy Industry Association, Washington, DC
• David Spira, Deloitte Consulting LLP, New York, NY
• Adam Stern, American Wind Energy Association, Washington, DC
• Paul Thomsen, Ormat Technologies, Reno, NV
• Ross Tyler, Business Network for Offshore Wind, Towson, MD
• Craig Updyke, National Electrical Manufacturers Association, Arlington, VA
• Ravindra Vora, Transventure Energy LLC, Arvada, CO
• Fred Walti, Network for Global Innovation, Los Angeles, CA
• Kathleen Weiss, First Solar, Tempe, AZ
• Candice Wilson, U.S. Grains Council, Washington, DC
• Thomas Wright, GreenStar Products, Inc., San Antonio, TX

The returning REEEAC appointees are:

• Matt Card, Suniva, Norcross, GA
• Kelly Davis, Renewable Fuels Association, Ellisville, MO
• Mike Davis, NC Sustainable Energy Association, Raleigh, NC
• Jen Derstine, Capstone Turbine Corporation, Van Nuys, CA
• Svetoslav Gatchev, Delphos International, Ltd., Washington, DC
• Arthur Haubenstock, California Efficiency & Demand Management Council, Santa Rosa, CA
• Kenneth Kramer, Rushton Atlantic, LLC, New York, NY
• Joseph Mendelson, Tesla, Palo Alto, CA
• Gary Rackliffe, ABB Inc., Raleigh, NC
• Jorge Sanchez, Thor Energy, San Antonio, TX
• Frank Shaw, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP, Washington, DC
• Scott Sklar, The Stella Group, Arlington, VA
• Paula Soos, Covanta, Morristown, NJ
• Trey Taylor, Verdant Power Inc., New York, NY
• Cindy Thyfault, Global Biofuture Solutions, Inc., Los Angeles, CA
• Laura Van Wie McGrory, Alliance to Save Energy, Washington, DC

Since 2010, the REEEAC has provided 56 recommendations to address a wide range of issues, from the creation of market conditions necessary for developing a strong manufacturing base to the closure of critical gaps in export financing.

The next meeting of the REEEAC is scheduled for November 13, 2018 in Washington, D.C.

Wilbur Ross

Credit: U.S. Department of Commerce