Acting Veterans Affairs Leadership Announcement | site |

(Information contained in U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs press release dated: January 20, 2021)

Washington - - The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) released the names of current senior career executives who will perform the duties of senior department leadership in acting capacities until additional Biden administration appointees are confirmed and sworn in.

The list includes the following:

Secretary (Acting) – Dat P. Tran, principal deputy assistant secretary for Office of Enterprise Integration.

Deputy Secretary (Acting) – Dr. Carolyn M. Clancy, assistant undersecretary for Health, Discovery, Education and Affiliate Networks.

Under Secretary for Health (Acting) – Dr. Richard Stone, principal deputy undersecretary for Health.

Under Secretary for Benefits (Acting) – Thomas Murphy, director for Northeast District, Veterans Benefits Administration.

Under Secretary for Memorial Affairs (Acting) – Ron Walters, principal deputy undersecretary for Memorial Affairs.

General Counsel (Acting) – Richard Hipolit, deputy general counsel for Veterans' Programs.

Assistant Secretary Information & Technology/Chief Information Officer (Acting) – Dominic Cussatt, principal deputy assistant secretary for Information & Technology/deputy Chief Information Officer.

Assistant Secretary Enterprise Integration (Acting) – John Medve, executive director for Policy and Interagency Collaboration, Office of Enterprise Integration.

Assistant Secretary Congressional and Legislative Affairs (Acting) – Glenn Johnson, principal deputy assistant secretary for Congressional and Legislative Affairs.

Assistant Secretary Accountability and Whistleblower Protection (Acting) – Hansel Cordeiro, executive director for Investigations, Office of Accountability and Whistleblower Protection.

Principal Executive Director for Acquisition, Logistics, and Construction (Acting) – Phillip Christy, deputy principal executive director for Office of Acquisition, Logistics & Construction.

Chief Veterans Experience Officer (Acting) – Barbara Morton, deputy chief Veterans Experience Officer.

Additionally, Jon Rychalski, assistant secretary for Management/Chief Financial Officer; Cheryl L. Mason, chairman of the Board of Veterans' Appeals; and Michael J. Missal, inspector general, Office of the Inspector General will continue serving in their current positions within the department.