U.S. Department of State says Global Magnitsky Sanctions imposed on Individuals Involved in the Killing of Jamal Khashoggi

Washington, DC - - (November 15, 2018) - - Today, U.S. Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo issued the following statement:

Today, the United States imposed sanctions on seventeen Saudi Arabian individuals for serious human rights abuse resulting from their roles in the killing of Jamal Khashoggi at the Consulate of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in Istanbul, Turkey, on October 2. This action was taken under the authority of Executive Order 13818, which implements and builds upon the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act. As a result of this action, all of these individuals’ assets within U.S. jurisdiction are blocked, and U.S. persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions with them. At the time of Khashoggi’s killing, these individuals occupied positions in the Royal Court and several ministries and offices of the Government of Saudi Arabia.

List of Sanctioned Individuals
  1. Saud al-Qahtani
  2. Maher Mutreb
  3. Salah Tubaigy
  4. Meshal Albostani
  5. Naif Alarifi
  6. Mohammed Alzahrani
  7. Mansour Abahussain
  8. Khalid Alotaibi
  9. Abdulaziz Alhawsawi
  10. Waleed Alsehri
  11. Thaar Alharbi
  12. Fahad Albalawi
  13. Badr Alotaibi
  14. Mustafa Almadani
  15. Saif Alqahtani
  16. Turki Alsehri
  17. Mohammed Alotaibi

The Global Magnitsky Act empowers the United States to take significant steps to protect and promote human rights and combat corruption around the world.

Our action today is an important step in responding to Khashoggi’s killing. The State Department will continue to seek all relevant facts, consult Congress, and work with other nations to hold accountable those involved in the killing of Jamal Khashoggi.

Credit: U.S. Department of State